Tagging Time!

Xina Marie Uhl tagged me in a blog hop and although I’m late, I figured I would get on with it and then prod some fellow authors because this is fun.

1) What am I working on? Well, this is a terrible question because it makes me feel guilty. I should be working on part three of The Gauntlet Trilogy, but I keep getting sidetracked with new ideas. I took a bit of a hiatus and sketched out some plot ideas for about six new novels. I’ve also been in something of a writing slump where the internet is shiny and writing feels like work. I skipped the scene in The Choice of Weapons that was bogging me down and although it’s been plaguing me, I think once I get back to the meat of the story that I can go back and fix it. In the meantime, I’ve been getting a few random ideas on how to rewrite that section to make it more interesting for the reader, and thereby more interesting for me to write.

Not procrastinating at all!

I also just got back from Norwescon where I sat down and did my first out loud reading ever. Wow, was that an eye-opener! I really need to read all of my books in front of an audience because it becomes glaringly obvious where things need to be cut. In the middle of an action scene, one shall not wax eloquent about what the characters are wearing. *facepalm*

2) How does my work differ from others of my genre? That’s a tough question because I fully admit that my fantasy novel is rather cliché. However, I wrote it because I love cliché novels of heroes on epic quests and having adventures, and I tend to get bored with authors that constantly try to inject new ideas in order to be fresh and original. While I do enjoy unique concepts, I find that I can handle just about any tried and true formula if I love the characters. I have a habit of adoring my characters and developing complex subplots and motivations for even the minor characters. Ninety percent of their backstory will never make it into the books, but the fact that they all have their own lives and motives make for more interesting characters, I think.

Seth’s neighbor’s house?

3) Why do I write what I do? Somewhat selfishly, I write because I am rarely satisfied with the books that I read. On very rare occasions I will locate a real treasure–a book that I love and will read over and over. Those, however, are few and far between, so when I was a youngster I started to write stories that I wanted to read. As a bonus, I discovered that other people wanted to read those stories also, and so I just kept writing.

4) How does my writing process work? I open a blank document and I write. That pretty much covers most of my writing. There are occasions, however, when I will make outlines, character sketches, timelines, and spreadsheets, but for the post part I just sit down and start cranking out the words, with pauses here and there for research. I also tend to shut everything off and write the next scene in my mind (usually before I go to sleep) and hammer out any inconsistencies or try several variations. Then I’ll get up in the morning and write the scene. Yes, I get annoyed when I can’t always remember the perfect line I’d come up with the night before. No, I don’t get annoyed to the point where I bother to turn on a light and write it down. (Except on sporadic instances when it’s too perfect to let slip away.)

NEEDS MOAR SPREADSHEET.

And that’s about enough blathering. Time to tag three other authors, so I’m going to go with the lovely people below:

Jennifer Douwes – Her awesome blog is awesome and although she doesn’t have a book out quite yet, we plan to keep pestering her until she does. 😀

Nicole Delacroix – She has a paranormal romance novel, Glimpse of Darkness, available here, and she is made of excellence. Do follow!

Mara Alten – If you are a fan of werewolves, the paranormal, and twisty mysteries, be sure to check out her various books in progress on her site!

Authors, remember to tag three others after posting to your own blog! And happy writing!

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

